20 for ’12: Music I cannot wait to hear

2012 is just around the corner! Now is the time to make end of the year lists it seems. Here’s a look into the music I am most anticipating. Looking to the upcoming year, it looks like there’s going to be a ton of good music coming out. So much so that it was hard for me to narrow down this list to 20.

20. Eisley
Earlier this year, they put out “The Valley,” which is, simply put, lovely music. In February of 2012, they’ll be releasing “Deep Space.” The only reason it’s not farther up the list is it’s only a 5 song EP. Hopefully a full length album will follow closely behind.

19.Wolves at the Gate
One of the newer bands I’m excited to see a release from. They mainly got my attention with  how dynamic they are. Their songs feature great screaming, singing, and lyrics. That’s rare. Plus, bonus points for a cool band name.

18. Shinedown
They probably seem like an odd choice on a list mostly made up of lesser known bands. I really loved “The Sound of Madness” though and it would feel wrong to leave them out. Their two most recent songs both landed on movie soundtracks. “Diamond Eyes” was for The Expendables and “Her Name is Alice” was used on, you guessed it, the recent Alice in Wonderland movie. If the new album is made up of songs half as good as those two, it’ll be well worth the listen.

17. Project 86
The first of a few bands on this list who have recently split ways with Tooth and Nail records to go independent. They’ve got a kickstarter page up now to help fund their next album. What’s not to be excited about?

16. Anberlin
I’m not one of those people that think Anberlin is the best thing since sliced bread, however, they do put out good music consistently. Their work is always worth checking out. Well… except the “Impossible” video.

15. Mike Mains and the Branches
A band not many people know of, but trust me, they’re very worth listening to. Mike Mains and the Branches won me over with their single “Stereo.” They’ve got a very unique sound that I can’t wait to hear more of.

14. Nine Lashes
From what I’ve heard, we can expect good things from their upcoming album, “World We View.” “Anthem of the Lonely” is their current single and, although it’s not spectacular, I like it. The song that has really caught my attention is “Adrenaline.” It’s got major energy and features the dude who is partially responsible for their signing to Tooth and Nail, Trevor McNevan. Apparently they worked with him a lot on this album which is further evidence it’ll be awesome.

13. Skillet
In interviews lately, they’ve said they’re demoing songs right now. That should mean their next CD will come out in 2012. Please allow me a moment of harsh honesty. I think Awake is overrated and Skillet’s worst in a long time. I’m excited for this album primarily because I’m curious to see if they go back to making good music. Just keeping it real.

12. The Classic Crime
Like Santas of music, on Christmas they announced that 2012 will be the year for new tunes. Without Tooth and Nail this time, they’re going at this independently. I’m not a diehard fan of all their music, but “The Silver Cord” is still one of my all time favorite albums. These guys’ lyrics are especially worth paying attention to.

11. The Wedding
A little eccentric? Sure. They usually bring a blend of many different genres to the table. I’ve recently rediscovered how good “Polarity” and “The Sound the Steel EP” are. It makes me want a new album now.

10. Capital Lights
Remember a few weeks ago I was complaining about Capital Light’s disappearance? Probably not. I was though, and I like to think that they heard my cries and decided to announce their 2nd album. Oh, happy day. It was just too outrageous that a band so good would end so soon.

9.  Manafest
One of my first introductions to Manafest was during Creation 2010. He had an alright show. I saw him again at Creation this year, and he was 110% better. I get the feeling that this is a guy who has been working very hard to better his craft. His last album, “The Chase,” is great. I’m going to call that the next one will be even better.

8. Write This Down
It took me a little while to pick up their 2009 debut album. By a “little while” I mean I just got it earlier this year. These guys are fantastic though. I won’t overlook their second album, that’s for sure.

7. Flyleaf
Flyleaf used to be 100% my favorite band. I’ve listened to their first CD probably more than any other. Then they disappeared. Memento Mori came out and I liked it but didn’t love it. Then they disappeared again. Hopefully 2012 will mark their return and they’ll stop with the disappearing act. I miss you Flyleaf!

6. Dessa
My favorite spoken word artist. The only rapper with a degree in philosophy I know of too. Dessa is an amazing artist. She raps, she sings, but the thing that amazes me the most is her words. Be sure to check out this underrated artist. The group she contributes to, Doomtree, ain’t bad either.

5. Emery
I loved We Do What We Want. It might not have been their best, but I think it’s the Emery album I’m most compatible with. Their  next album is supposed to be in the same vein as “We Do What We Want” (aka heavy). Emery’s lighter, acoustic side is set to shine through on a separate project as well. I’m looking forward to both!

4. Children 18: 3
Ever think to yourself, “self, I have sadness deep in my soul because I think punk is dead.” Children 18: 3 is a band that can chase those sorrows away. Random fact, I first got into their music after winning their CD in a Jesusfreakhideout crazy caption. Another random fact, these are probably the scariest looking homeschooled siblings you’ll ever see.

3. House of Heroes
Can these guys make a bad song? Evidence says… no. I mean, seriously, their epicosity is getting ridiculous. House of Heroes are one of the best kept secrets of music. Period. I can’t think of much to add to that other than go buy “The End is Not the End” and “Suburba” if you like good music.

2. Thousand Foot Krutch
TFK has been one of my favorites since I first got into rock. Out of those favorites that I had back then, they’re one of the only ones worth following nowadays. Proof of that? Their new song “War of Change.” One of the things that I like about them is they consistently put out good music with an inconsistent sound. They’re constantly evolving. I’m really curious how this album will go down now that they’re an independent band. Speaking of which, what the heck is up with all these artists leaving Tooth and Nail?

1. Showbread
Showbread. Concept album. Science fiction. Raw rock is going to kill. I have no doubts that their next project, “Cancer,” is going to be amazing. Without getting corny, I find that Showbread is the most inspiring group of musicians I’ve listened to. Josh Dies and the gang are so good at what they do. I think they might’ve lost their minds a little on the way, but I think its for the better.

So, those are the albums I’m most looking forward to. What are you excited to hear?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 20 for ’12: Music I cannot wait to hear

  1. Ryan G says:

    Nice list! Agreed on “Awake”…this is all they have to show for the 5+ years since Comatose? They need to tour less and hone their craft more…

    • akaylamay says:

      Thanks for the comment!
      Nice to know someone agrees with me about Skillet. I wish they could pull something good together, but as you said, I don’t think they take enough time to focus on the songs.

  2. Cody says:

    So glad to see you featuring WATG! If you’re looking for more new bands check out my blog, http://www.futurerockstars.org I would love to hear what you think!
    Also, just wanted to say I am losing faith in Shinedown everyday. And the more Brent Smith does side-projects, the less I think Shinedown will produce material that sounds new. However, definitely agree that I can’t wait to see what follows “Bully”!

  3. Pingback: February Spotifinds: From Deep Space to the World We View | Thoughts From the Shredder

Leave a comment