Raw Rock, the Favorite Artist Lie, and a Sci-fi CD/Movie

“So, you listen to a lot of music. Who is your favorite artist?”
“Ohhh, I could never pick just one. I love way too many.”

That’s what I have been telling people for a long time. Today, after about thirty seconds of analyzing clear facts, I realized that was a lie.

6 of my top 10 most played songs on iTunes are by Showbread. Whenever I run into one of their songs on shuffle, I usually have to listen to the rest of the album. The songs never get old because they are so diverse. No two albums are even remotely similar. Instead of a confusing genre name, they call it raw rock. Unique and one of a kind are probably the best terms to describe them. I suppose bizarre and outlandish would work as well. Plus, Showbread are insanely creative and inspiring on an artistic level. Probably a little insane too. Their often dark methods of portraying truth paints vivid pictures in my mind. Most importantly, God has really blessed the ministry of Showbread. A huge part of their ministry is giving away music for free through Come&Live. Their lyrics are so wonderful and at the same time devastating my life has certainly been effected by them.

All this is to explain why I’m so excited about their new album they announced today. Please take a minute to check this out. It’s called “Cancer,” and it’s going to be like nothing else.
When I found out about this, I was baking scones… let’s just say they ended up a little crispy. I’m excited about “Cancer” to the point of acting like an unfocused idiot for a good portion of the day. Showbread are making a ridiculously ambitious project. Not only are they putting together what’s sure to be a very complex sci-fi concept album, there will also be a movie that coincides with it. I’ve tried to imagine it, but the rusty spokes inside my head can’t quite fabricate the epicosity of such a thing.
Showbread does not have a rich record company backing them. They’re using a Kickstarter to help fund this. If you are a fan of music that is exceptional, you should consider helping out these guys. If you are excited about the spread of the gospel through unusual ways, you should consider helping out these guys. I am happy as a clam to get to be part of a project as amazing as this. There are no doubts that the experience of this album will be mind blowing.

…and may raw rock kill us forever and ever. Amen.

This entry was posted in Spotlight, TUNES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raw Rock, the Favorite Artist Lie, and a Sci-fi CD/Movie

  1. Probably my favorite from you yet 😛 I knew they were going to announce a new one soon, but I hadn’t been paying much attention to when. They’re releasing it through Come&Live!, yes?

Leave a comment